Half Full/Empty

I.

I’m that glass argued about,

And what’s within or without.

My contents seem to cause a stir,

With every single him and her.

II.

Do I appear as half empty,

Only half my contents you see?

Or am I half full of contents,

Only half of it has been spent?

III.

If it’s empty that you witness,

Then pessimism you possess.

Through a dark prism do you see,

And you lack positivity.

IV.

But if half full you ascertain,

Then optimism you’ve obtained.

You must live with a constant smile,

Living and laughing all the while.

V.

Yet I say that neither is true,

And that nothing is at issue.

No view of the contents I had,

Prove neither thoughts of good nor bad.

VI.

Instead if fullness you don’t see,

Why not take the time to fill me?

Half full or empty – neither is worse,

Just drink enough to fill your thirst.

Facebook  Follow Me on Facebook

Twitter  Follow Me on Twitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on August 15, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Reblogged this on notsosecretlife83 and commented:
    Depends on if you’re drinking it or pouring it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

