My Season, My Time

I.

My season,

My time.

II.

I came to be,

And my season began.

Rhythmically, my moments passed.

Tick, tick, tick, tick.

III.

Each coming and going,

Fading like vapor.

Here then gone,

Just as suddenly as it arrived.

IV.

I marked intervals,

Desired the new day.

All the while lost,

To the beauty that was now.

V.

Losing that precious,

Valued commodity,

That is no more measured,

Than it is promised.

VI.

Wasted and squandered,

Moments lost forever.

Opportunities passed up,

Come then gone.

VII.

Age and wisdom,

Reveal what I have forfeited.

A life not lived,

Growth not realized.

VIII.

Now determined,

I will seize moments.

Cherish the time.

Lay hold of this life.

IX.

All I have will be used.

My heart, my talent, my vigor,

Every single resource,

Exploited to exhaustion

X.

At the last tick,

When my final moment ends,

Nothing should remain,

I should exit on empty.

XI.

Now:

My season,

My time.

Facebook     Follow Me on Facebook

Twitter     Follow Me on Twitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on September 3, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Yes, the now is all. I like the point of view and the spare writing.

  2. Unique and very well written. The progression of life would be the theme, I like it. Glad you stumbled and had some time to read some of my novice writings. Now I have found another writer that I can learn from.

    • Thank you Charly. I’ve enjoyed reading your work and I’m glad I found your blog here on WordPress. I appreciate the compliment but, honestly, I’ve only been writing seriously for about 2 years though I dabbled a lot through the years prior to that. Also, I feel like all writers can learn from one another especially how, when and how often to bend and shatter the rules. We’re all novices to some degree and we all are when compared to other, more experienced writers.

  3. Thoroughly enjoyed this.. very nice 🙂

  4. Enjoyed the progression of this piece.

  5. Thank you so very much for following my little mishmash of a blog. I keep thinking I’ll get the time to do just a poetry blog but not today. Winter’s coming so maybe during a quiet night snow, I’ll do the poetry one. I like spare writing muchly and this I like muchly! I like the progression and when a writer takes the time to create a theme and follow it through. I am looking forward to getting your posts! Please visit often and always feel welcomed.

  6. Nice observations. Especially like IV 😉

Leave a Reply

