Do You See Me Now?

I.

I’m willing to sacrifice,

to trade my mind,

for what I have to offer.

It’s who I am.

Do you see me now?

II.

I’ll give away my life,

to give up pleasures,

in order to create anew.

It’s who I am.

Do you see me now?

III.

I will lower expectations,

in all other lifetime pursuits,

to make an original mark.

It’s who I am.

Do you see me now?

IV.

I’ll give away my days,

take on an early grave,

to create that worthy of art.

It’s who I am.

Do you see me now?

V.

Or do you tune me out,

ignoring what I have to say,

to force me to conform?

That’s who YOU are. Or –

Do you not hear me now?

Facebook     Follow me on Facebook

Twitter     Follow me on Twitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on September 14, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Zainab Bint Husain

    Love it! x

  2. This reminded me of 13-year-old me. It’s the kind of writing that makes you want to go back and talk to yourself then, because you can’t, you talk to the writer instead. I know you don’t need the sentiment that you shouldn’t conform for others, but I needed to say it. We might try being mysterious, goofy, perfectionists, aloof or generally spineless but it never works and even if it did it wouldn’t be worth it.
    Great work- will certainly be following your stuff from here out.

Leave a Reply

