Today I Die

I.

In the presence of the reflection,

Shall I choose to cast my eyes,

Upon the figure staring at me,

This bit of twisted manhood?

II.

Maybe I should depart this scene,

Allowing his image to fade,

Becoming dimmer with each step,

Taken in the opposite direction.

III.

Contrary to intuition I remain,

Rooted in place, resolute.

Slowly my eyes are raised,

To cast their gaze on the image.

IV.

Fears are confirmed at first glance,

A terrible, empty man stares back.

A weathered, rutted face expresses,

Years lived, perhaps endured.

V.

Hollow, dull eyes peer at me,

Their disturbing lack of spark,

Testifies to lost youthfulness,

A staid and fixed mind.

VI.

Closer examination determines,

The loss of the cosmic spark,

A mind fixed and enclosed.

The condition is terminal.

VII.

So hopeless has this man become,

That no course of action shall cure him.

Bearing witness to his affliction,

His relief can only be gained through destruction.

VIII.

Perchance through death may he awake,

Cognitive functions rising to new heights,

Gray matter in harmony with the universe,

Creating a fully-realized consciousness.

IX.

I choose to die this death.

Today I die.

Facebook     Follow me on Facebook

Twitter     Follow me on Twitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on September 18, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. Nice writing! I enjoyed it a lot.
    check out:
    passiontorn.wordpress.com

  2. A brilliant poetic reflection I should say. “So hopeless has this man become, That no course of action shall cure him.” This is very profound.

  3. This is eloquently beautiful and sad, I hope you’re okay…brilliantly written, nice rhythm 🙂

    • Doing well, thanks. This came about one day when I finally paid notice to the aging process which had taken away all youth. I was in a perpetual state of “thinking old” rather than living in the moment. I appreciate your feedback and I’m glad you liked it. Thanks again!

  4. Beautiful self reflective piece, thoroughly enjoyed . Haunting and deep.

  5. “Thinking old” I’ve never done that! My heart still tells me I am still the wild girl who went to Woodstock and can’t remember very much except….watch out for the brown acid….oops! I like this poem. Actually, I did do a post about wondering where the girl in me had gone and then I heard a wonderful song by Chris Kane, Let’s Take a Ride. Yowzer, got me going again. I really do thank you for following me on Aki no Koe. This is very kind of you.

    • You’re quite welcome for the follow. It does us all good to act like a kid or to let out the teenager within. My thinking had become to akin to “well I’m XX years old now why would I want to act that way?” It sounds like you have a healthy attitude about life – think young, live life to the fullest and enjoy the moment. Again, thank you for the feedback.

  6. Thats quite a gloomy picture of what is to come for all of us 🙂 But enjoyed the poetic rendition. Looking forward to more. Thanks for the follow.

  7. A powerful poem. I’ve lived this thought a lot. I suppose it’s a stage where the mind tries to reconcile the body that no longer keeps up.

  8. Truly beautiful… It’s absolutely amazing how words in a poem convey such deep emotions!

  9. Truly beautiful… Love the way a poem conveys such deep emotions! 🙂

Leave a Reply

