Within

I.

Conscious; simultaneously unconscious.

Thinking; meanwhile thoughts lost.

Memories; suppressed experiences.

Belief; cognitive dissonance.

II.

What is within is either easily grasped,

Or has become inexorably locked away.

All we are is not all we think,

Nor is our reality all we feel.

III.

Teased by portions of our capacities,

We are prevented from accessing the remainder.

Jailed deep within our recesses,

A vast repository.

IV.

I seek the key to unlock the vault,

To pull from the depths the hidden.

To reclaim that which is mine,

That was hidden away by strange forces.

V.

Is my experience my true reality,

Or is reality only what I have determined it to be?

Is the person I have become genuine,

Or does a better version of me lie within?

VI.

If a new truth is buried inside me,

Then I must demand to control it.

For better or worse, all that I contain is mine,

And I must learn to master all that I am.

Facebook

  Follow me on Facebook

Twitter

     

Follow me on Twitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on September 22, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. You have extrapolated profound depths in this piece; you have spoken aloud the silent screams of many…perfect and beautiful

  2. Thank you so much for your comment! I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  3. It’s all so deep and beautiful.
    My favorite lines are these from V:

    “Is the person I have become genuine,
    Or does a better version of me lie within?”

    Don’t we all wonder that everyday?

    Thanks for the follow. I followed back.
    🙂

  4. I like the thoughtfulness of this as you dig into thoughts I think many of us have. (I’m not convinced the reality I know is a true reality, as it will always be colored by what I have seen, and what I want to see.)

    • Our minds tell us what reality is but I’ve often wondered what reality could be found in the subconscious. Knowing our minds is knowing our realities – or at least one way to define it. Thank you for the comment. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  5. A lot to relate to in this one

  6. I love this poem. It is truth itself. I love how you understand the subconscious, too. It is true that subconscious mind speaks a high voice at times, once one digs beneath it and throws out much stuff gifted by society and such. Our true selves are high Self itself. We are one Love, and that’s pretty high indeed. I love your blog. I’ll visit soon 🙂 ❤ ❤ 🙂

  7. Love this on every level.

  8. This is a truly interesting and thought provoking poem. Writing it took both work and talent…
    I especially liked “All we are is not all we think”

  9. Wonderful poem.

  10. Wow! Love the depth of your words.

Leave a Reply

