Come Out

I.

Dare not to march to the populists’ drum,

Be separate, daring and bold.

Come out!

II.

Defy the yoke of conformity,

Stand fast in your resolve.

Come out!

III.

Lay waste to those who cast you down,

Be mindful of who you are, what you are.

Come out!

IV.

Turn a deaf ear to society’s aspersions,

Celebrate character that defines you.

Come out!

V.

Ignore bigotry, hatred and prejudice,

Love who you are and who you want.

Come out!

VI.

Now let us go and be who and what we are.

I’ll proudly carry the banner and be first to,

Come out!

Facebook

       Follow me on Facebook

Twitter

       Follow me on Twitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on September 26, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. Very nice!

  2. I live in a place where it can be quite dangerous for many types of “coming out.” Nevertheless, I appreciate the positive tone of this writing you shared.

    • I definitely understand. Coming out can be a matter of sexuality, religious (or lack of) beliefs, etc. I also live in a very conservative area where many lifestyles or beliefs aren’t accepted. Maybe by joining together we can change that. At the very least, we can be there for mutual support.

  3. Nice to meet someone who understands…I feel like a fish out of water where I live, & am not from the American south, Living down here has been has been quite an experience, to say the least. All the best to you for comfortable coping in your conservative area.

    • It’s always great to meet like-minded people who can identify with being different in anyway especially when living in an area that is less tolerant. Thanks again for your comment!

  4. Defy the bandwagon. The best thing you can do in a world that’s trying to change you is stay true to yourself. Empowering piece!
    Winma

  5. I like the repetition and how the option is left open to each reader to fill a blank to find themselves. Regardless of societal pressures. Excellent expressions and I always enjoy duality of many writes. Esp. here today. 🙂
    Thanks so much for coming by.

  6. I wish those sentiments upon all ears. Sad to say many of them are deaf?

  7. Hear Hear. Well writ.

  8. Hey I thought I will give you a Catholic Christian perspective…I don’t mean to sound preachie or anything remotely but I see that a lot of comments portray Christians as bigots…maybe some are but not all…I love someone not becaue of their sexuality but because they are made in God’s image at the end of the day we all yearn for acceptance and fulfilment. As St. Augustin once wrote in The Confession:

    “You have made us for yourself and our hearts are restless until they rest upon you”

    We are more than our sexuality, our personhood is not define by it nor by our faults, mistakes and shortcoming or brilliance, maturity, creativity or intelligence but by our Father love for us…

    Cheers!

    • Not preachie in the least. Like you, I’m accepting of people strictly on a personal level rather than basing my feelings of them on sexuality, religion (or lack of it), etc. Dr. King is still the author of my favorite quote on this in that we should judge someone “by the content of their character.

      The intention of this piece has less to do with societal acceptance and more to do with our own acceptance of ourselves. If others can’t accept us as we are then we can separate ourselves from those who are bigoted.

      I’ve known bigots of all stripes, religions, etc. It’s a dangerous thing to lump together all people of a particular group as bigoted. Though I’ve witnessed an awful lot of hatred.

      If everyone kept an open mind like you seem to have, there would be much less anxiety about being an individual and owning who we are.

      Thanks for the comment!

      • Thank you for your kind response to my comment! It is awful that you had to experience much hate. I am sorry about that. It really saddens me to know that they are people out there that, on one hand claim to proclaim the Gospel and on the other hand forget to do so in a loving way. Perhaps their views are colored by a limited and uniformed human anthropology. People can disagree with others about anything and yet love and respect the dignity of that person without compromising their own values. Charity (love) properly understood involves giving oneself to others in all things that are oriented to the good of the other. That can be encouragement or correction.

        I think that understanding has to come before tolerance. The problem is that most people assume a tribalistic-like mentality that closes the intellect from sharing our differences. Thanks for letting me share those thoughts with you. I enjoy your poetry!

        Cheers,

        Caleb

        • The poem is not actually about me coming out. I wrote it with a few very close friends in mind and their problems with coming out. The personal part of this lies not in me gaining acceptance because of my sexuality but because of my religious views (or lack of them). Society too often has a predisposition to dismiss others who are outside what is considered the “norm.”

          Thanks again for your comment, Caleb!

Leave a Reply

