Swan Song

I.

Shall it be an act of loving kindness,

A heartfelt moment of selfless giving?

My recognition that life’s truest gift,

Comes in unrequited giving?

II.

Shall it be words of love and caring,

A soul will carry for their lifetime?

Providing one in need of comfort,

With words of solitude and peace?

III.

Shall it be a final human touch,

Gentle and oh so full of love?

An embrace within a time of need,

Solace provided among life’s storm?

IV.

For what shall be my swan song?

My mortality now overwhelms,

It comes into an ever-sharp focus,

Looming much more closely than distant.

V.

Shall I act, speak or touch,

Let my final act within mortal coil,

Be filled with love and peace,

For this is my one and final swan song.

Facebook

       Follow me on Facebook

Twitter

       Follow me on Twitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on September 28, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. I follow you on twitter and here as well. I literally just signed up for a workshop on Zazen. I got that email confirmation seconds before I got the email that you’d posted this. This poem is beautiful and timely to me. Thank you for sharing your lovely work 🙂

  2. What a lovely song 🙂

  3. Beautiful!

  4. Love this one 🙂 Thanks for the follow. Looking forward to reading more

  5. Beautiful! Thanks for visiting Homeflair John:)

  6. Cool blog mate very cool. But the tide post was amazing.
    You must have been around for a while.
    Because so many people have liked these post.

    • Thank you for the comment! I’m glad you enjoyed it. I’ve had the blog up for several months but have only been really posting poetry for a little over 2 months. There are a lot of writers here on WordPress who regularly check their readers for work from other writers. I think that accounts for most of the likes I’ve gotten. Thanks again!

  7. Thank you for following my blog. Your poetry has wonderful depth and life. I’m glad we found each other.

  8. Thank you for following my Poetry. I read the number of your pieces and realized we have had similar journeys and pondered many of the same thoughts. It would be fun if you set up an archive by month on
    A page so I (and other readers) could scan your poems by title and read the ones we wanted to. In the meantime thanks for some great reads, I’ll be back.
    Alex

    • Thank you, Alex! I’m always toying around with WordPress and listing an archive is something I haven’t put up yet. You’re right that I should do that. Thanks again for visiting and reading. It’s great to meet you.

  9. Another very poignant, but interesting piece, though I hope your actual swan song is yet some ways off in the future. I am certainly hoping to read much more work from you before you fade into that deep, and ever-darkening night. Read you later.

Leave a Reply

