Free

I.

Why is it me that you would fear?

Because I’m one the world cannot steer?

That I walk a path that’s truly mine?

That it’s freedom that’s brought me here?

I propose,

My way is my own,

While I reject the norm.

You only see a fault,

In my singular form.

II.

For what reason would you find me strange?

‘Cause for no other I’ll rearrange?

That my life can be lived alone?

That from others I remain estranged?

I propose,

No other is a fit,

For me and a tight knit.

You see loneliness,

And refusal to commit.

III.

What part of me might cause your concern?

Perhaps a mind set free to discern?

That I reject that which can’t be proven?

That all superstition have I spurned?

I propose,

My mind is unique,

Maybe not what you seek.

You simply disagree,

You’re curiously piqued.

IV.

It is not just I,

But also my mind that remains free.

Facebook

       Follow me on Facebook

Twitter

       Follow me on Twitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on September 30, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. Right on! Freedom is much preferred to their little boxes.

  2. Absolutely brilliant and interesting. What a pleasure to read.

  3. Whoa!!!! I love this! Please keep it up! 🙂

  4. Optimize, Coalesce

    As it should be.

  5. I felt like you wrote the story of myself! I love when someone else’s writing can touch that sacred place in my heart where my own writing comes from, most never know it’s even deep down in there.

    • Thank you so much! One thing in life that’s certain is that, while we all live separate lives and we are all individuals, we can all have things in common with our struggles that bind us. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  6. You have a strong voice.

  7. I love it!! 😀 “I propose, My way is my own, While I reject the norm. You only see a fault, In my singular form.” More often than not simply being yourself has its setbacks and I really related to this poem of yours.

  8. Reblogged this on UNDONE.

Leave a Reply

