The Ledge

I.

Wonderment of this vantage point,

The panorama which must exist,

From such a domineering height,

Perchance led to undertake the climb.

II.

A yearning for the brisk, flowing air,

Its cooling yet relentless buffeting,

Seeking to fight against its will,

It is conceivable led me to clamber here.

III.

You, knowing me all too well,

Perceive my transparency.

You, witness to weary traveler,

Certainly see through my ruse.

IV.

You know my plight.

You sense my pain.

You are aware of my infirmity.

You too must feel the weight of my burden.

V.

I am not here to gain perspective.

I am not here to feel wind on my face.

I have come here to peer into the void,

To gaze down upon my own mortality.

VI.

I am a coward and cannot go,

Beyond the edge thus to meet,

The sting of death today,

For that will come in nature’s time.

VII.

But I must for just a moment,

Seize control of my doom.

To glare into death’s own eyes,

To declare that this is not the time.

VIII.

Brought nigh unto my end,

I can now smell its stench.

And can now depart this perch,

Confident that I must live.

Facebook

       Follow me on Facebook

Twitter

       Follow Me on Twitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on October 4, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. Really amazing– I love this. RJ

  2. Solid piece of writing! Keep ep coming 🙂
    -Dani

  3. I’m glad “this is not the time”. Beautiful poem

  4. WOW! Life is worth living, keep ’em comming!

  5. How often must we gaze into the void to know that it’s really not what we want?Thanks for taking us there without having to really view it ourselves.

  6. This poem is really cool because it encapsulates the mental struggle of progressing forward in a world that only rewards mediocrity.

  7. I really like this. I especially love stanza V. 🙂

Leave a Reply

