Life

I.

Teeth jagged,

Eyes baggy,

Hair ceding.

Look at what life has done to me.

II.

Ulcer burns,

Stomach churns,

Eyesight fades.

See the ailments life has given me.

III.

Anger fits,

Hatred dwells,

Patience thin.

Feel how life has burdened me.

IV.

Beloveds depart,

Loved ones gone,

Mourning great.

Behold those life has taken from me.

V.

Family grown,

Love’s expanse,

Comfort felt.

Meet the joys life has handed me.

VI.

Friends are dear,

Circle grows,

Tightened knit.

Touch dear ones life has granted me.

VII.

Countless times,

Great events,

Highs to lows.

Recount the days life has afforded me.

Facebook

       Follow me on Facebook

Twitter

       Follow me on Twitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on October 6, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. This reads like a classic, really good. Moving too.

  2. I agree… very, very lovely.

  3. Beautiful, well done

  4. Brutal and grace, one’s life.

  5. Well done another successful poem!.

  6. this is life…beautiful

  7. Great writing love the cadence.

  8. I love how you’ve distilled life here.

  9. Gene Brode, Jr.

    Thank you for checking out my blog. As I was reading through your poetry, I found this one really resonated with me. Thanks for sharing it!

  10. These are all fantastic. Especially this one! I’ve just been sitting here reading and reading and reading, when of course, I should be working…

  11. What a nice poem! Empowering and truthful.

Leave a Reply

