If Only

If only.

If only we could go back

to how it was

to how we were

to who we were.

The way back to that

can no longer be found

perhaps.

The path back to that

was long ago destroyed

I guess.

This is not about forgive.

This is not about forget.

This is now about forward.

This is now about friendship

that I know we can find again.

If only.

Facebook

Twitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on October 13, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. Wonderful, I hope you find your friend 🙂

  2. I had so many “lost friendships” because of distance, time, interests…it can be sad, but I have always felt that there are still my friends and that at any time we can pick up our friendship just were we left it…if only! BTW I really like the way you end it.

  3. your poem reminds me of the song “Memories” by Barbara Streisand.

    there is a caveat to all good things happening…seems like….and this is what i capture in your poem. 🙂

  4. Poignant yet hopeful. It’s so easy to lose a friendship, but it can be found again – ‘if only’.

  5. Someone said “The past is a foreign country: they do things differently there.” Myself, I tend to live in the present and am terrible at keeping in touch with absent friends. Past friendships can be like a fly in amber.

  6. this reminds me of all my friends who are in contact with me, SAD

  7. Very poignant. I start feeling this way every fall. So many gone, so much changed, and yet it makes way for the new, and starts over. Life really is cycles, isn’t it? I enjoyed this very much. And thank you for the follow of BP.

  8. I like this poem very much… It is hard to lose a friendship, and very special to get the chance to renew it. I like your “if only ” sentiments!

  9. Beautiful words… just how I feel:)

  10. Your words ring with truth and there may be many that experience the “If Only” stage of life. As long as there is life there is hope.

Leave a Reply

