Doubt

I.

Are you steadfast in all you know is true?

Is all you believe immutable and sure?

Do you prove to be steady and cocksure?

II.

Perhaps the best lesson of your life,

will present itself unannounced.

That is when you will discover

everything that you don’t know.

III.

And as this instruction finds its way,

into the fabric of who you are or will become,

it may shake the pillars of all you once knew,

all you once held dear, all with which you identify.

IV.

Reject the fear that this moment brings.

Rather, embrace this wondrous moment.

For the greatest gift, the most sublime quality

that will lead you to all knowledge is doubt.

       FacebookTwitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on October 17, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Awesome 🙂

  2. So very true…doubt allows one to question and explore. Thanks for visiting my blog:)

  3. I’m going to be a very knowledgeable one then.. lol!
    I like it much and find resonance in the potential of doubt, as well as all other feelings we might condemn as ‘bad’. Even fear has amazing potential…

  4. I think I agree (although I’m not certain).

  5. Great work thank you for finding my blog I will returned like your work

  6. Nicely Penned

  7. Speaks to where I am at and where I have been. So succinct.

  8. Socrates was right, the first step is to admit that we don’t really know…humility is such a great virtue!

Leave a Reply

