Fists and Intellect

I.

Be proud of that title – that reputation

that your fists are ready and willing,

that any and all situation can be

settled by your brute force.

II.

I will be proud that I can speak –

that I can verbally spar with most,

that conflict can/should be settled

with something you lack – intellect.

        FacebookTwitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on October 21, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Ah – the dueling double helix of mind & body. Does one need the other to exist? Your poetry begs good questions from your readers. Thanks.

  2. Yep!
    Seems that last word was the fatal blow…
    Don’t we wish
    Elouise

  3. Gwen beat me to the punch

  4. I can totally relate. Thanks for this one.

  5. Words are always better–and cut deeper than any weapon.

Leave a Reply

