Ancient Me

I.

Memories –

that ancient me

lies in dust and dirt

buried in the deepest recess

of the basement.

II.

Upon my next

archaeological dig

I will stumble upon

who I was – once.

III.

These were things

I once cared about

now discarded like

so much rubbish.

IV.

Unearthing them

will remind me

how I cared before.

But will I care again?

       FacebookTwitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on October 23, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 25 Comments.

  1. So many of us feel the same…

  2. I can easily relate to this. Your style is incredible. I enjoyed reading this piece.

  3. Wistful and wonderful. Reminds me a lot of the last time I moved and came across a box with memorabilia from my high school years.

  4. We are dust and dirt. No matter our past. It’s interesting that leaves fall from the trees and become the nutrients for it’s soil. Maybe thoughts can be like leaves. Enjoyed, Tara

  5. I really enjoyed this piece. Thank you for sharing it.

  6. ….I’ve been feeling like this the last 12 months

  7. Amazing the number of people who stem to share the same sort of feelings, perceptual flaws and all and simultaneously even.

  8. This is a hard one for me, memories are far too painful.

  9. Very interesting take on things that we used to like but grow out…memories of happier time and hard time, they all make us what we are today. The good and the bad!

  10. I really like this- I keep a diary and sometimes I look over entries from years back and it’s like reading someone else’s thoughts. It always amazes me how much you can change without even realising, so I loved the second stanza as rereading old diary entries feels like an archaeological dig as I stumble over things I’d forgotten but were once so important! Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

