My Verse

I.

My verse is not yet written.

My song is not yet sung.

All marrow from the bone,

has yet to be wrung.

II.

My verse is not yet written.

My life is not yet lived.

A legacy must I leave,

and more must I give.

III.

My verse is not yet written.

My time is not yet done.

I must arrive on empty

when my end has come.

       FacebookTwitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on October 25, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 33 Comments.

  1. I like the last verse in particular. Nice.

    • Thank you so much! I’m glad you enjoyed it.

    • The last verse is reminiscent of Ahmad Shamlou’s words, “thus spoke the exhausted poet.” If you got an hour check out the documentary by Moslem Mansouri at my site (go to “the others” at the top menu). I know, I know, who’s got an hour time, right? But if poetry is a necessity for you, this is one hour you will not regret…

      • I am not sure if I left any other same exact messages on your board. A friend had signed in to their account from my ipad, and I was lost as to how to sign them out. Apparently, I had to clean the cache to do it, but it took me forever to figure it out. Damn wordpress.

      • Thank you for your comment and for visiting! I’m glad you enjoyed it.

      • I WILL check it out, soon as I can. I got to your comment late, but it will be sometime this week. Thanks for filling in the reference. I wrote poetry mostly in my 20’s. Today I’m mostly prose, but I still appreciate the challenge of being concise and the one line punch poetry can deliver as well.

    • Poetry is more unforgiving than prose. As your own poem says, a word, a line not right, will make you stay up through the night. But everyone has their method. I don’t write it down unless I know it all in finished form. The only one I broke my own rule with is a longer poem over 20 pages long, which simply could not be finished in one sitting. Still working on it, so as you can guess, I am not getting much sleep these days.

      • It certainly can be the cause of lost sleep. I’ve always wanted to have the great inspiration that leads to writing but I’ve found the writing daily gets the juices flowing. That, of course, doesn’t cure writer’s block since I’ve had a bout of that lately. That’s what we do though – write. The more we do it the better we become (we hope) and the better our ideas translate to the page.

      • Lately I cannot find the time to write daily. But as they say, a writer writes all the time. And when not writing, he/she thinks about writing. I don’t. I think about doing. That, I think, is the reason I’ve never (yet) had writer’s block.

      • That sounds presumptuous. What I meant was that writing needs physicality, not just abstraction. Or an abstraction that transforms into something physical. A monstrosity, to be sure, but nevertheless, one we are bound to as if by a blood pact or some ancient oath.

      • that IS true. Probably why I don’t write it anymore. Press on…the end of a masterwork is always worth te effort.

  2. My favourite of all your poems. Simply wonderful

  3. Reblogged this on CountMaxi's Blog.

  4. Sometimes simple things are the most difficult ones to say. you wrote it so well. ❤

  5. Love this! Simple and beautiful

  6. Motivational poem, love it!! Everyone wants to change the world and inspire greatness. Great piece!!

  7. Reblogged this on Beyond All Eyes and commented:
    To leave behind footprints that can’t be sweep away.

  8. Reblogged this on Truthful Expressions and commented:
    So enjoyed reading this. Connected instantly with the words.

  9. Wow, this is an amazing poem! I love its rhythm and its message.

  10. “Marrow from the bone… yet to be wrung”–excellent.

  11. I like this. It’s rare to see rhymes in poetry these days. Rarer still is metre – I’d be interested to see what you can do with different poetic forms 🙂

Leave a Reply

