To My Mind

To my mind:

Please rest.

Quiet the demons.

Destroy the doubt.

Obsess no more.

Put away all the old

unsolvable

worries and neuroses.

Relieve the weight

you place on me

for a day or

even for a moment.

Then together

we might find

what eludes us.

       FacebookTwitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on October 29, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 47 Comments.

  1. This is real. ❤ Love this.

  2. Should make this my personal mantra! Love this.

  3. Reblogged this on Truthful Expressions and commented:
    My sentiments exactly!

  4. Loved this poem. How very true for those whose minds never let them rest. Amazing!

  5. Really liked this..rang home for me!

  6. I think we all need to make this ou life’s mantra. I really love this.

    Thank you so much for following my blog! I appreciate it 🙂 Hope to read more of your work

  7. Man this was awesome. I appreciate all those who can spill emotions onto a canvas in word form.

  8. Reblogged this on While In Chanel.

  9. Those demons of doubt–hard to shake.

  10. Damn those dastardly inner demons–fie, I say!

  11. i should make mind to do so ..

  12. My mind feels the same…
    Two dragons

  13. The mind can be such a beautiful thing but also can be a source of great challenges to people who suffer from anxieties and other delimitating mental illness.

  14. In the words of Milton: The mind is its own place, and in itself can make a heaven of hell, a hell of heaven.

    Loved the poem, excellent use of line breaks.

  15. Together we might find what eludes us……BRILLIANT

  16. The unrelenting quest for many of us.

  17. This is pretty much me. 🙂

  18. Hello there! I’m new here in your blog. This poem is powerful, beautifully written. I hope to see more of this. 🙂

  19. Such a beautiful poem, it touched my heart. Thanks for visiting my Blog, the Like and the Follow..I will follow you ………

  20. Ah! the beautiful Mind! It fears demise with putting away the unsolvable worries … one day maybe, not yet it says 🙂 Thanks John for the beautiful words and heartfelt thanks for stopping by at preciousrhymes. Here’s to my mind and yours!

  21. A very true set of sentiments with which I can totally relate. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

