Something

Then there was nothing.

No sorrow.

No joy.

No tears.

No laughter.

But there was breath in me.

So there was

something.

       FacebookTwitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on November 1, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 44 Comments.

  1. There is always something…and nothing! Short and sweet poem. Loved it my friend.

  2. Hopeful. I like it!

  3. Thank you so much! I’m glad you liked it.

  4. Reblogged this on The Write Stuff and commented:
    I am loving this!

  5. In our darkest hour, if we can always try to remember – we breathe – there is something. Keep on taking that next breath.. Thank you for sharing!

  6. Nothingness is what perfect somethingness can achieve 🙂

  7. jessiemartinovic

    beautiful

  8. This is a good description of being so emotionally exhausted from trauma or emotional hurt that you enter into this state for survival of your soul. Good poem.

  9. Gotta love this one.

  10. …Always there is something

  11. A fanastic piece, and yes, there is always another corner to turn.

  12. Oh loved..’…but there was breath in me…’…it’s one of the most profound things and yet we take it so much for granted..not notice it! Thank you for visiting and helping me discover your blog 🙂

  13. Not much said, but so much conveyed here. I’ve known this place more than once in different ways. When stoicism shields your spirit, it is remarkably beautiful (in retrospect) as a tool for perseverance. It’s a self-induced peace that minimizes the ability for anything to move you. It is the low-level of peace, of course, because you have in essence shut down. But it is still an amazing built-in, especially for those of us who are overly sensitive to our environment and its elements. That next breath is the upswing, and if taken in properly… the key to resetting one’s course. Once you recover from your lowest, nothing thereafter affects you quite the same. We are magnificently designed to overcome.

  14. This short poem gave me hope, and made me smile with its last line 🙂 Indeed, as long as we are alive, there is hope, and that is really something.. Thank you! 🙂

  15. We can feel empty but then again feelings can come and go…at the end they are just feelings.

  16. The trick is to not allow our feelings to rule us.

  17. When all is said and done, at the end of the day we’re still here, hanging on. Sometimes barely…

  18. it has got everything, wonderful

  19. Being conscious of your breath in itself is a beautiful thing. A very thoughtful poem. Thanks.

  20. I’ve marathon through so many of your poems, I am sorry i couldn’t stop to comment in each poem how good it was. I wanted to read more:)
    I like that your poems are short and sensible about subtle things in life. I’m So glad to be following you.. And thanks for following me.

Leave a Reply

