Paying for It

Moments of chemical escape

paid for with my mind.

Nights when sleep won’t come

paid for with desire.

Searching for words, inspiration

paid for with humility.

Grudges passionately held

paid for with ulcers.

Revenge sought due to hatred

paid for with humanity.

       FacebookTwitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on November 7, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. This was good!

  2. Thanks for the reflection of my creative chaos and a sense of shared solitude.

  3. I like your spare style. Poets have to learn how not to gush!

  4. This piece resonates especially today. On all levels.

  5. Was there a sense of restraint as you wrote this?

  6. I most definitely can relate

  7. I admire the thoughtfulness of your writing here.

Leave a Reply

