The Choice

The choice lay before me:

to accept or to reject.

Many years of study,

hours of reflection,

sifting through all the

fact, myth and fiction.

Belief for its own sake –

that’s simply not good enough.

I have chosen to live.

My mind will have no ruler

other than the one owning it.

My path, my direction –

those are my prerogatives.

My thoughts, my actions –

only I will direct them.

There is no need for a king –

Only I rule in my world.

Make no implication that meaning

is lost without divine guidance.

I alone will give my life meaning.

My choice is made

and it is the correct one.

       FacebookTwitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on November 10, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 41 Comments.

  1. Absolutely, though not, I feel, the easy choice. Well put!

  2. Though we climb different mountains, I applaud your courage and am grateful for your reckless inspiration.

    Tio Stib

  3. Always remain true to your inner self. I love the honest integrity and confident stance 🙂

  4. Good choice, love that you gave voice this! Sometimes we forget we have one.
    Also appreciate your choice to like my musings as well.

  5. Quite interesting, decision is life… 🙂

  6. Great write! If it were only that easy yo be on control of your life. Well done.

  7. I’ve been down the same road, crossed the same crossroads, onto the same path of liberating freedom, in the direction I chose. Great words. Thanks for dropping by and liking my post. Nice to virtually meet you.

  8. Greetings.
    Hmm, the selection read “The Choice” is, how you say, foreign to me personally, as I choose to involve God in the decision making process, as my Savior and Lord (as well King of Kings & Lord of Lords), so we part company on that issue. Otherwise, the “open verse” style used is also a part of my poetry (most anyway), but, I do utilize “rhythmic-metered verse” on occasion. In that vein, the poem was enjoyed for its content, regardless of differing theology. By the way, thanks for the nod in the follow.

    ichibon

  9. I really like this. Good job! I may have to share this on my blog

  10. Reblogged this on Through the Fire and commented:
    This is a good one. Deep.

    Many props to Double U on writing this. It’s like I said, really good

  11. I’ve been there… Congratulations on finding your freedom!

  12. Your writing is quite unique caro

  13. Truly enjoyed reading this. In the end, we’re all the drivers of our own fates by the decisions we make

  14. Interesting poem as always!

    These two lines caught my attention:

    My mind will have no ruler
    other than the one owning it.

    These is such a common theme through out pop culture, from Games of Thrones to Breaking Bad it is vogue to declare: a man/woman has to have his own code. The real question is what code? Is it one that we made up as we go along based on our own will? Or is it based on universal principles?

    The true distinction is between the universality of natural law or its subjugation to moral relativism. One has been present through the history of civilization the other is a post modern invention that can rationalize almost anything. One validates the Nuremberg trial appeal to natural law the other one rationalize the atrocities committed by those judged at the Nuremberg trial.

    It is indeed a scary time in history!

    All the best,

    Caleb

    • I think everyone should have their own code and be their own person. Think independently and be free from the pop culture or major societal influences – rather investigate and use reason and logic to determine one’s own mind.

      There are some universal rules governing good and bad – generally that which is bad for the group is deemed against the rules and that which benefits the group is legal. The trials at Nuremburg were not very ambiguous in that there were so many atrocities committed that mankind had no choice but to act based on an overall view of morality – a view that a vast majority shared especially when dealing with genocide.

      As for our current times, I think today is an exciting time to be alive. More and more, people are falling away from traditions that have long ago outlived their usefulness and are beginning to move forward. Progress can, on occasion, seem scary since not only the current state of affairs is changing the direction society is headed has also changed.

      Regards,

      John

      • Dear John,

        I think we both agree that people most follow their own conscience. That is abide to what they perceive to be good and reject what they perceive to be bad. The real question is how individuals inform their conscience. I think this is where we part from each other. I believe that there are universal truths that are transcendent and eternal, whereas I get the impression that you believe that we can mold these truths to our convenience. In the case of Nuremberg you seem to argue that a consensus reached by humanity made it clear that the acts of the Nazi were evil. I believe that the atrocity committed by the Nazi were an act of evil, independently of such consensus. What if the Nazis won the war? What would that consensus be?

        I also disagree with you in that these are not scary times, confused maybe, but not scary…at least not yet. But there will be a time when humanity completely abandons those so-called “out of date traditions” such as reason and faith that have built western civilization. At that time it will crumble and only the blood of the martyrs may be able to save her. Mind you this happen before…just look at the French Revolution.

        Cheers,

        Caleb

  15. I sense a strong divine connect with your thoughts. May be we are at same frequency. perhaps!

    My best wishes
    Purnima ❤

  16. We each have to make that choice for ourselves, I commend you for making yours, and I wish you every good thing in follow the path you have chosen to follow. Perhaps we shall meet at journey’s end.

  17. “It is our choices, Harry, that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities.” ― J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. I’m in awe of your courage that you portrayed here and confidence you have in yourself. However, what really struck me was that you not only believed in your choice but also know that “it is the correct one.”

    • Thank you! I’m not sure it was courage rather than me recoiling at the notion of simply accepting an ideology at face value without investigation of my own. It’s great to meet you!

Leave a Reply

