Have I Lived

Have I lived?

Did I dispense love freely?

Were moments of joy cherished –

moments of sorrow embraced?

Have I been a true friend?

Were strengths used, maximized –

weaknesses improved, reduced?

Have I given of myself?

Have I served only myself

or have I helped those in need?

Did I fulfill a purpose?

Were days simply calendar marks

or has my time been spent to leave a mark?

On a day when, in honesty,

I can affirm the better of this

then I can be sure that

I have lived.

       FacebookTwitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on November 12, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 28 Comments.

  1. Excellent,gives one alot to think over, all we can do is live in the present,and try to fill each day with something good we can leave behind.I know i don’t want all my footprints following a path that my grandaughter would be ashamed of. I love poetry,yours is very good.

    • Thank you very much! We can only live our lives to the fullest and leave behind memories for others and try to make our mark while we’re here. Great to meet you!

      • Such a pleasure meeting you,how long have you been a poet? I have my first piece written at age 9,about the animals way of talking to each other,(never was a barbie girl). Cannot wait to read more of your art. Happy fall Cheri

        • I’ve written for years mostly off and on since I was in my twenties and thirties but I decided to put much more time and effort into it over the last 3 to 4 years. It’s great to see kids writing and attempting to express themselves in new ways. The positive effect always shows later in life. I look forward to reading more of your work too! Thanks, Cheri!

  2. Love it! Thanks for the follow.

  3. http://www.felixdennis.com/poetry/

    Hi John,
    Just found the Felix Dennis poetry site this evening. You ought to read some of his output. Regards,
    Howard.

  4. I really enjoyed reading this! Good questions to ask oneself 🙂

  5. What worthwhile reflection..! Thank you. 🙂

  6. You write from the heart! I love the way you contemplate and express yourself.

  7. Beautiful lines of heart, these♥
    Thank you for dropping by my site with your warmth and for following, too.
    Do take care and keep writing 🙂

  8. Tough thoughts I too mull over daily. Lovely poem of this type of contemplation! And I think, given your blog, the answer to many are yes.

    • Given the relative short lives we lead, if we spend as much time as possible helping others and giving of ourselves, then we have all lived. Thank you for the comment! I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  9. Verse that also serves as a good daily litany to remind us to think outside of ourselves!
    Thanks for coming by my blog to introduce yourself. I’ll enjoy getting to know you and your work better now that I’m here.
    Cheers,
    Kathryn

  10. Reblogged this on Gail's Blog and commented:
    If we all thought like this, the world would be a better place to live.

  11. Reblogged this on Gail’s Blog. Thanks for following!

  12. John, I’d be very happy to repost this poem in my “Guestbook” column in KPKworld. I have over 800 followers I’d like to share it with…

Leave a Reply

