Time

I.

Yesterday is experience.

Tomorrow is longed for.

Today is all we have.

II.

The past provides memories,

gives us all we’ve known

but we don’t live there.

III.

The future ignites hope,

gives us something to long for

but we may never see it.

IV.

The present is where we exist –

the only time in which we live

and the only time we are given.

       FacebookTwitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on November 16, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 37 Comments.

  1. I agree and really enjoyed reading this!

  2. I like the way you have structured this – each stanza works well both independently and as part of the whole. The message is clear, but, sadly, how often does ‘life’ get in the way of living?
    Good work!

  3. Thank you for the very thoughtful poem.. Never a truer statement made. Because today is all we are given, truly we must treasure every second of what we are given. Be happy and live life for all its worth!!!

  4. live for the day…almost always.

  5. Reblogged this on October Never Ends and commented:
    (nice poem about time …)

  6. Common words put up with simplistic style of clarity.

  7. I always have the feeling I am not living in the present. I’m either thinking about what I should not have done in the past or what I should be doing in the future. There just isn’t any now. 😦 lol
    Thanks for visiting my blog. 🙂

  8. Nicely put. Thanks for the follow!

  9. I love this 😊 simple, to the point and so very true! Thanks for posting!

  10. So make the most of it. 😊

  11. Reblogged this on CountMaxi's Blog.

  12. A philosophy well worth following, and beautifully written. Thanks for visiting me, John.

  13. Really like this. May I reblog to “Tales of Unwise Paths”?

Leave a Reply

