Mask

I.

All apologies but my mask

has somehow gone missing.

It may be tucked in the couch

or hidden with my keys.

II.

I’ll not be able to wear it

to conceal my real expression

so that you may be presented

with a comforting lie of a smile.

       FacebookTwitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on November 18, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. I feel that way a lot-and very well written 😉

  2. Oh the masks we wear. Nice concise observation of human nature.

  3. Thanks for following me, John. I love this poem. You have moved several people today, including me. I’ll be back for more.

  4. Lord, I hope I never lose my mask or my husband will faint dead away if he sees my “leave me alone for god’s sake and let me write” look. A very insightful piece.

  5. A great truth is exposed full frontal. Nice work.

    • Thank you, Mike! Head-on is a good idea in writing but not always necessarily so. That’s the great thing about writing is that it gives us the opportunity to be blunt and apply no filters.

  6. I never take my mask off – that way, I don’t have to put it on when Halloween arrives (I like to scare the little Trick or Treaters when they come calling – little do they know it’s really my face).

  7. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9tSbWds4his

    Hi John,
    Here is a strong piece on the theme ‘Mask’. Hope you find it interesting.
    Regards,
    Howard

  8. http://fineartamerica.com/featured/f-african-mask-with-opening-leyton-franklin.html

    Hi again John,
    Thanks for that. I wanted to show this as well, but it took a while to find it.
    All the best,
    Howard

    • Thanks for sharing, Howard. That’s an interesting piece of work. I’ve always had a soft spot for collages especially when pieced together to form a whole like this one.

  9. Lol… I need this as a poster for work! Right outside my door… “Warring! Not wearing P.C. mask today, enter at own risk!” Love it.

  10. Very well said. I’ll now have plenty to think about tonight. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

