Be Alive

I.

The switch will flip.

The bulbs will burst.

The cord will snap.

Out

the lights will go.

II.

What is to fear?

Why is the dread

consuming you?

III.

The end will come.

But let it come

in its own time.

IV.

Meanwhile, be alive

rather than practice

for when you’re dead.

       FacebookTwitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on November 20, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 25 Comments.

  1. changing creatively

    Speaks right to me…thank you for sharing.

  2. Really like this, and something I need to remember.

  3. Very Stoic!

    Thanks for checking out my poetry blog!

    Amor Fati & God bless.

  4. Indeed … be alive… and live now 🙂

  5. This is a good read. Captivating.

  6. Nice John.. living each day to the fullest is the only way to live! Blessings to you in the here and now and thanks so much for following my blog… I haven’t checked onto my blog for a while so it was extra nice to see your reply… Happy Thanksgiving! Jeane

    • Thank you, Jeane! Living for the moment is the goal though I fail at it quite often. If we all simply enjoy the time we have, we’ll all be happier for it. Thanks again for the comment and for visiting! Great to meet you.

  7. so true, yet so far! 🙂

  8. I like the rhythm of this poem. The directive to live fully is also strongly felt.

  9. very powerful poem… I like it

  10. A great reminder of a point I am often guilty of forgetting myself. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

