Weep

I.

The melancholy has descended.

Weighted and tied around my neck.

Strains of a pensive melody

drive me steps closer to madness.

II.

Pride has exited the picture.

My masculinity be damned.

There simply is no room in me

to store up what must be released.

.

So –

.

I weep.

.

I weep.

.

I weep.

       FacebookTwitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on December 1, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 33 Comments.

  1. You know, today was a day like this for me, as well. Sometimes I wonder if there’s something about the air….

    take heart

  2. Great imagery. You have a way with words.

  3. It proves that even out of great sadness can come beauty.

    • Yes it can. I totally agree. Being in tune with our feelings can help us write provided we aren’t afraid to let out the unvarnished truth. Thanks for the comment! Great to meet you.

  4. Tears can have a cathartic process and leave us cleansed, drained of the darkness that needed to be shed. I hope tomorrow is a sunnier and smiling day for you. 🙂

  5. What a hauntingly beautiful way to describe anguish. Thank you for sharing this. 🌟😊

  6. Tears definitely make the heart lighter. I especially liked the writing style of numbering the stanzas.

  7. When you liked my post Pressure and then followed, I popped over to see what you were all about, and then read this piece. Seems we are of one mind on this topic. Nice work.

  8. Real men cry. Nice work.

  9. I had to catch my breath after reading this. This is beautiful.

  10. Reblogged this on lulunjapa and commented:
    This is beautiful!

  11. Wonderful writing, John. I can relate to this quite well.
    Thank you for following me, and allowing me to find you.

  12. Your bravery is reflected through your vulnerability. Thank you John:-)

  13. Wonderful release in your words look forward to visiting your blog .
    Kind Regards Kathy.

Leave a Reply

