Love Paradox

I.

Those words sound nice,

I love you. I care.”

How they roll off the tongue,

tickle the ear,

sweeten the heart –

it’s quite an effect.

II.

But you create a paradox

by forming those words.

What should be sincere

becomes banal, feigned,

when your actions

out-speak your mouth.

       FacebookTwitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on December 3, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 30 Comments.

  1. Tell the truth….Love is definitely a verb ♥

  2. What’s funny and sad is I was reading this in my email notification, thinking… okay, this is more on the “simple” side for John, not as complex as usual. Then I got to “when your actions out-speak your mouth.” and I literally laughed out loud. Perhaps it was written with a sad note/tone, but somehow I “heard” it coming out of my mouth with a sly streak of annoyed sarcasm… which obviously tickled me! 🙂

    • Thank you!! It’s odd you read it that way but the fact that you read it with a laugh and with some intended sarcasm, is spot-on. I’m cure if I were to say to someone what I had to say in this poem, the sarcasm would be thick.

  3. If there’one thing I really like about your blog its the mind twisting nature of your poems (in a good way) makes you think…and here I was think im the only one who loves writing like this…keep up the good work

  4. outshinedandovershadowed

    ouch!

  5. True that…. “Actions speak louder than words”….

  6. Reblogged this on Cynical Yorkshireman.

  7. I enjoyed your poem. One person is enjoying the relationship, definitely not the partner.

  8. I went back and read everything you’ve posted since July. Your writing moves me! Stream of consciousness is not something I find easy to write. I admire your ability and your vulnerability.

  9. Paradox — how right now this hits close to home. 😦

    Wonderfully written.

  10. We need to care enough to act like we care!

  11. Reblogged this on CountMaxi's Blog.

  12. Excellent. I think it could be received at a number of levels. Maybe its a warning, and not a judgment?

  13. I love this one especially among all your amazing pieces. This is truly wonderful!
    I wonder why I didn’t come across your blog before honestly! You’ve got really nice pieces. 🙂

Leave a Reply

