Within A Few Words

I.

If I only mostly hold my tongue,

Bury most thoughts and feelings.

With only an economy of language,

A few, well-chosen syllables,

How deep would the cuts be?

II.

If I maintain a level of control,

Keep my cool at some level.

While keeping the tone just-so,

And carefully selected utterances,

What damage could I do?

       FacebookTwitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on December 8, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 34 Comments.

  1. Delete adjectives and adverbs and one is left with pure thought. Enjoyed it.

  2. And what damage does silence do too? Do we ever speak with the level of understanding that we need?
    Thoughtful words.

  3. Nicely written…
    Sometimes silence is chosen ’cause the words to express a certain feeling or thought flee

  4. I don’t know but this touched me at so many different levels.

  5. I believe that burying the words allows them to seep deeper into our soul and therefore the cuts we make are against ourselves. We need to speak in order to allow the wounds to breathe and heal. It seems so often that as human beings we assume the other person understands our words — certainly we understand what we mean — but everyone interprets everything from their own histories, biases and point-of-view. That’s why speaking face-to-face is so much more effective, when done properly, than writing letters, talking on the phone or texting. Speaking face-to-face allows all persons the opportunity to stop and qualiry what is being said, stop and ask what the meaning is or if they understand one another correctly. Speaking face-to-face does less harm that all of the alternatives. I do recommend praying for guidance on finding the correct words before going into a talk that could hurt another person as well as waiting until the anger has abated so that you can utilize the true emotions: disappointment, fear, sadness, confusion, etc. to speak the truth of how you are feeling 🙂

    Nicely written, very thoughtful and thought provoking.

    ☀ Memee

    • Thank you very much! I can’t say I could agree more with you. Speaking face-to-face is the best way. Maybe the only way to truly communicate honestly and openly. It’s great to meet you!

  6. Less… is always more.

  7. I love your work. So simple, so clean, so tight, and yet so limitless and infinitely deep. 💚🌟

  8. I have nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award. Should you choose to accept, check out the details here. http://truthasiseeitdotcom.wordpress.com/2014/12/08/one-lovely-blog/ Keep up the great work!

  9. This poem reminds me of the theme of a poem that my mom wrote many years ago! O, sweet memories!

  10. i came in here to comment….somehow, some words seem to have evaporated from my head….
    Came to tell you i liked it… and to echo the thoughts of the others above me…. Simple, sleek, but also, quite Stirring..

    • Thank you! I know that feeling when the brain gets in the way and words escape. I appreciate your comment and I’m glad to know that you enjoyed what you’ve read here. I look forward to more of your work as well.

  11. Very poignant. Thank you for sharing.

  12. Thank you. It’s great to meet you!

  1. Pingback: Your Blog, Thanks. | Too Big Eyes

Leave a Reply

