Today

Will it lay left, right,

In shades of black, white,

There among the thorns,

Or in peace adorned?

In pain?

Insane?

Dreary?

Clearly?

Wasted?

Tasted?

In heap cast aside,

Gladly taken in stride?

It is now at hand.

Where will today land?

Facebook

Twitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on December 12, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. Reblogged this on Cynical Yorkshireman.

  2. Herein it’ll land
    Plainly writ, even to the blind
    This day that seemed past in a hurry
    Comes to an end, an end not in a hurry

    Herein will today stay
    Where we cast it aside, and on a pillow lay
    It will not journey on with us
    As we saddle tomorrow’s horse

  3. Herein it’ll land
    Plainly writ, even to the blind
    This day that seemed past in a hurry
    Comes to an end, an end not in a flurry

    Herein will today stay
    Where we cast it aside, and on a pillow lay
    It will not journey on with us
    As we saddle tomorrow’s horse

  4. Thank you for liking “First Snow” and for following my blog. I enjoyed this poem about the uncertainty of life. You did a great job of capturing how each day is a series of unknown possibilities. Well done! 🙂

  5. Felt never wasted , shared multiplies the wealth, It touches others that may feel it and now alone they are no more.
    Kind Regards

  6. A thoughtful short poem.

  7. on it’s feet I hope, 🙂

  8. You Are The Cowardly One

    You want me to believe that I’m not seeing clearly while the evil one is there in my back yard. You want me to agree to see things as you say. But actually, I see right where you are.

    You are the cowardly one who won’t tell the truth. You tell others what to do. It is your lot to continue to stir up the pot. But, is your concern genuine—actually, I think not!

    You have allowed this evil in my house yet strive to hide the important facts. Your acts are those of a coward and your dirty deeds are to be swept away like the trashed droppings of a nasty little mouse. Ursula Denise Walker Please excuse the brevity- Sent from my iPhone

    >

  9. That resonated with me, you must have that rare gift of telepathy for I’m sure that i wrote it, but never blogged, no never published , just tossed aside like a dirty dish. Which way will tomorrow go? Is it pre determined or free, a choice for us to choose then follow.
    Nice poem man

    • Thank you, Louis! What’s interesting is how we find ourselves asking if someone read our minds. That’s a power I don’t have. lol I will say this – each of us will experience the same emotions, experiences, etc. throughout our lives. We have much more in common than we realize. It’s great to meet you!

Leave a Reply

