Memory of You

I.

It’s been years

since our last pleasantries,

since we last fellowship’d.

II.

How you were,

remains steadfast in my mind,

frozen in neural time capsule.

III.

It is my hope,

that you have changed very little.

I’ve used this memory of you for years.

Facebook

Twitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on December 19, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. Reblogged this on Praying for Eyebrowz and commented:
    One of my favorite bloggers/poets. Doubleupoet.wordpress.com

  2. Beautiful piece. Just beautiful. Thanks for following me and leading me to your blog. I’m looking forward to reading more of your work.
    ~Audrey

  3. I like this poem, especially “since we last fellowship’d” and the idea of “using” a person’s memory…almost as if you’re “using” the actual person. I also like the poignancy in the hope that “you have changed very little”. Thanks!

  4. This is a beautiful piece, and it’s so very relatable!!!! I love the open ending, with so many possible outcomes!

    •Hailee

  5. “I’ve used this memory of you for years.” That’s it on the nose! I’ve worn out memories of certain people. It’s interesting how they can lose power over time. Love this!

    • Thank you! I’m glad you liked it. I’ve always found it odd how someone can stay a certain age in my mind for years. Then, when I see them again, they’ve changed, aged and they’re nothing like I remembered them. It’s great to meet you!

  6. “It is my hope, that you have changed very little.” This is exactly the line that rings in my head during a long break. The poem may have a simple front but it holds such deep meanings within. Somehow it reminds me of a song by Gotye – Somebody That I Used To Know. I’m curious if it was life experience or idealism that inspired you to write this? Thanks John White! 🙂

  7. Simple but captivating words. Great work!

Leave a Reply

