Alive

None of what, none of whom,

Are now dead to me,

Will ever displace,

The importance,

Of those I live among.

Of my mind, of my past,

Their significant part,

Will always remain,

Part of who I am,

They brought me here,

Made me who I am.

Those here now, those about me,

Are now all to me,

They hold a place,

Of importance,

And within my embrace.

Facebook

Twitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on January 1, 2015, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. Reblogged this on Siobhan and commented:
    πŸ‘πŸ‘Œ

  2. I can relate to this poem. Beautifully stated.

  3. To be alive — truly alive should be ones ultimate goal.
    It seems like you are in a good place. πŸ™‚

  4. Simple and charming piece of poetry! I loved it..

  5. thecrookedfingerkid

    I really really love this ❀

  6. one of my favorites!

Leave a Reply

