Here And There

With you there,

With me here,

There is but a measured distance,

That is now separating us.

With issues,

With problems,

There is a permanent divide,

A great gulf keeping us apart.

Facebook

Twitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on January 7, 2015, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. John, this is lovely — and so true. Physical distance is one thing; emotional distance is quite another!

  2. Lovely piece of writing. Where there is seperation there is loss regardless of the outcome. And you have portayed all this wonderfuly in this beautiful piece

  3. Beautifully stated, John. You’ve captured a world of divides in so few words. Impressive!
    ~Audrey

  4. I love your writing. Great work! 🙂

    By the way, I nominated your blog for the One Lovely Blog Award. If you accept, click the link below for details on what to do next.

    https://gabriel360live.wordpress.com/2015/01/07/you-like-me-right-now-you-like-me/

  5. Imagery of “there” and “here” totally works for me. Thanks.

  6. Sad but true. Lovely writing

  7. Beautiful, simple and true.

  8. So many sad poems. Why not go get the girl, be a man, follow that stiff heart of yours that pours the pitiful so freely in poems. I think modern poets lack courage sometimes…we need to buck up and get on with it, go get her over there.

    • The poem really isn’t about a girl I loved or still love. This is written about someone else. I would agree that if this had been a love interest, I should have just bucked up and gone to tell her how I feel.

  9. This is beautiful…This is the thing about someone who is good with words…they can write much profound phenomenons in just few lines.

Leave a Reply

