What You See

This outward appearance is simply,

A carefully constructed facade.

All that would truly constitute me,

Has been buried in places you can’t reach.

Much of me lies in zeroes and ones,

Stored away, controlled by a motherboard.

Personality traits locked away,

Only appearing in private times.

Schisms between me and perceived me,

Found scattered across the worldwide web.

A persona of intimacy,

Held in reserve for a chosen few.

I will reveal only what I choose,

You must accept what is presented.

This is all that I can be right now.

Facebook

Twitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on January 9, 2015, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 41 Comments.

  1. Beautiful. Strangly enough some recognition here… 😉

  2. This reminds me of social media. Interesting.

  3. Raw and intimate words: this is a potent poem.

  4. You’ve remind us there’s more than meets the mind and what we can present.

  5. You must accept what is presented.

    This is all that I can be right now.

    ^ yes.

  6. Beautiful poem, If you get the time you check mines as well and your readers are welcomes as well.

  7. We all hide behind the screen..little bits here and there. Enjoyed this.

  8. Hope each of us find our safe world where we no longer hide…poignant words. Thank you.

  9. Oh gods, that is so absolutely wonderfully right. Not just true, also right. Some people must read that poem….I swear the people you find in this world…you know, never caring about the real you…
    Which leads me to quote,’I wonder why such a beautiful world has to go awry.’ Princess Maritza, a classic novel by Peter James Burton….it’s a great read, or has been, so far.
    Thanks for following me…:)
    I hope you don’t mind if I reblog this…

  10. Reblogged this on Weaving Words and commented:
    This is so true people need to know it….in fact, it’s not only true, but also right. And, Double U, hats off to you! 😉 🙂

  11. I really like this..
    For me, what came to mind was the idea of artificial intelligence.
    Right out of the mouth of a robotic mind about to hit the apex of awareness.

  12. This is beautiful commentary in the state of relationships today. Sometimes I feel like this connection – wires and wireless, bits and bytes- is all there really is left. We hide behind our screens, and reveal ourselves in drips and drabs, only hoping to glimpse the real in others.

    Love it! Thank you for sharing.

    • Thank you! We do live differently, love differently and reveal ourselves differently in the digital age. If just to be honest with ourselves… It’s great to meet you!

  13. Beautiful keep on keeping on!

  14. Very true and very well written – looking forward to exploring more of your blog!
    And thanks for the follow 🙂

  15. Reblogged this on learning to let go and commented:
    I’m re-blogging this because I identify with it at this moment in my life tremendously. Beautifully said 🙂

  16. I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger award. Go check out my last post at https://mzhollywood1.wordpress.com/2015/01/14/versatile-blogger-award/

  17. I love this poem – I can relate. Looking forward to reading more from you!

Leave a Reply

