Love Displayed

You may elucidate your deepest feelings,

For the one you hold dear, who makes you complete,

With a touch of the hand, a stroke of the face.

Every emotion that wells up inside you,

For the singular heart that matches your own,

May be displayed within a kiss, an embrace.

But what can never account for your esteem,

Rather only exemplify blackness of heart,

Is hand raised in fury or words meant to harm.

Facebook

Twitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on January 16, 2015, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Teeth gnashed in temper,
    a hand pulled back to strike
    Things you want not to remember
    But haunt your sleep at nigh.

  2. Thank you for following me and liking my post! Love your work! 🙂

  3. that sweet tune soured fast towards the end,
    inspiration?

  4. Amazing write! At a time when I am facing a severe lack of inspiration, I have been reading your work and learning how to mould words.

  5. Okai so this is the my third Eny here in your blog in the same hour but it’s just I can’t decide which is my favorite poem , you really are a great poet , this actually made me tear up , I truly love it , and I am surprised of how you words affect me . You are a true artist .

  6. Reblogged this on salwaadlyy and commented:
    One of my favorite poems by my favorite poet .

Leave a Reply

