Walk A Mile

The judgment that you have passed,

Is decidedly unjust.

You booked, tried, convicted me,

In this, your kangaroo court.

You’ve already passed sentence –

I will hang from your gallows.

Prior to my next hearing,

I make of you one request –

Please sojourn at least a mile,

In the shoes you see me wear.

Facebook

Twitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on January 24, 2015, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 25 Comments.

  1. Love this John – just wanted you to know 🙂

  2. I love this poem John. I like the idea of living in others shoes.

  3. Deep, I think we all need to remember to walk in the others shoes.

  4. wonderfully captured the idea of injustice ! Great job

  5. This is great, judgement from others is such a painful thing, especially when they don’t fully understand your situation.

    • I agree completely. We may also now truly know someone even those we know well or have known for years. The unknown portions of who someone is or what makes them tick can cause a major blind spot.

  6. True that. Completely unfair to judge, unless you have experienced it you dont know nothing.
    Love the simplistic and straight up style.

  7. Loved the ending! Good wordplay, Thanks for joining my blog,
    hope you enjoy. Have an awesome day
    Alain

  8. It speaks an epic.Hope your case is heard in a greater court.

  9. it has a feel to it that brings feelings in me that go beyond description. Simple but profound

  10. Just realized that I am on a Double U binge!

Leave a Reply

