Say It

It’s not so hard to admit,

When you are being honest,

Though it can make you feel weak,

And at another’s mercy.

The grim coldness of it all,

Its utter finality,

A heartless uncaring hand,

Taking you away from here.

Say it:

You, Friend, just like I, fear death.

Facebook

Twitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on January 26, 2015, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 32 Comments.

  1. I love how this poem draws you in and then drops “death” in at the end.

  2. Poem reflects a lot of pain underneath and reaching a very difficult place to be. I think we do fear death. It’s hard to come to terms with. It helps when we can talk to somebody about the feelings.

    Yu/stan/kema

    • I agree. Honesty on this topic can be hard to come by with so many people. We talk around it or avoid completely and do so entirely too often. Fear of it is natural and human.

  3. I don’t know that I fear death. I might fear the prospect of pain leading up to death, or perhaps the way in which I die, but I watched both of my parents die, and it was really peaceful. Don’t get me wrong, I hope I live another 30 or more years, but death isn’t my boogie man–unless of course it decides to take my lived ones before me.

    • The act of dying is likely quite peaceful. The body stops and all ceases. It is partly the pain or the suffering that would be involved or, like you said, the way in which I would die that I fear. Of course, there’s also the thought that I might check out early or relatively young and miss out on what could have been a great life. i’m just not sure that we as people can be completely at ease about dying and leaving it all behind.

      • I read once that we are incapable of imagining the world without ourselves in it. All we can do is imagine the sorrow of those who love us.

        • Very well said. How can our minds comprehend all of life and all those we know going on without us? That has occupied my mind more times than I can count and has probably been responsible for damage to some brain cells. Some things are simply beyond us. I imagine their sorrow but I also hope that I’ve left them with enough good memories that their sorrow is over quickly and they can being to remember with a smile and laughter. That’s probably the bottom line – live well enough and fully enough as to be remember fondly and to go out knowing that no matter when you’re checking out you lived a full life.

          • I guess my fear then is that I wasn’t quite good enough, or kind enough, or that I won’t have been memorable enough. I feel a pits coming on.

            • We’re all memorable enough in our own unique way. If we live to be kind to others while we attempt to live meaningful, full lives I’m certain we can all go out knowing we left a mark somewhere.

  4. Reblogged this on Praying for Eyebrowz and commented:
    Talk to me, friends. I love this piece by John White, blogged on his site doubleupoet.wordpress.com. Tell me what you think.

  5. We all fear the unknown. Well done.

  6. And those who purport to know all the answers, in fact, knows very little. Those that say they are speaking their minds but are just tactless sociopaths. I am sure you know the type.

  7. Very nice, can’t say that i fear death when i go may I go peacefully. I do fear how my death will happen, will I be murdered, put to rest in my sleep, or struggle with sickness?

  8. Man, I dig it. I was weary at first, but that was neat.

  9. Yes. But also more than a bit curious, and perhaps even welcoming the moment. The final relief, alas.

    (I’ve missed so many of your posts, John. Not sure how that happen, but I shall investigate the matter.)

  10. There is always hope! I know you disagree but I believe our souls are eternal…and that we all are call to spend eternity with our Creator. That is my hope and hope one day it will be yours.

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

