Collecting Your Useless Advice

Eagerly, graciously you dispense,

Pearl after pearl of home-spun wisdom.

But I have yet to find benefit,

From a single word you have uttered.

Though I’m sure I’ll be back,

To collect more of your useless advice.

Facebook

Twitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on February 23, 2015, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 36 Comments.

  1. I’d rather not say but I will tell you that I’ve received a lot of bad advice from several people I know well.

  2. My words leave no trace, gone without an utter. Nonsense personified thrice fold. Meaninglingless. Yet open.

  3. The folly of unsolicited advice-
    when a sentence starts with
    “why don’t you”
    and you never asked what shall i do…

  4. Do you know what i think you should do? lol

  5. Great poem my friend,opinions and advice

  6. The idea that someone else can give us answers tantalizes us. Like moths to a flame, we circle round and round.

  7. No thank you for visiting,it’s always a pleasure to see you when you come next time we have to sit and talk
    Sheldon

  8. Thank you for following my blog. Great writing on your post. I am now following your blog.

  9. I come on that too and I don’t feel good about it Until now .

  10. Atimes all we just need listening ears….

  11. Dealing with others: I get the feeling they enjoy dispensing advice more than they hope anyone will find it useful.

  12. I like it. I am always suspicious of people when I see their wheels spinning with an answer before I’ve even finished my sentence and asked a question…..Listening???Not.

  13. Great words because we have all received, and I’m sure, maybe, given, meaningless advice.

  14. Geez John…what is the definition of insanity again? 🙂

  15. This is relatable haha

Leave a Reply

