Dead to Me

Shall I quote you a sonnet,

Present a soliloquy,

Orate the greatest verses,

Sing an ode written for you?

And when would all of this art,

Bend your heart to fit with mine?

If your heart is dead to me,

Perhaps a farewell is best.

Facebook

Twitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on February 25, 2015, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 31 Comments.

  1. I wanted to stop in and say thanks for visiting my blog. I don’t often write poetry myself, but I do enjoy reading them so it will be nice to see some of yours on my feed.

  2. Dismally beautiful words, painfully familiar subject…

  3. Thank you, T.R.! I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  4. Fascinating philosophy, written short, to the point and well; it leads me into wondering! Thank you so much for including my blog! I am excited to meet you!

  5. It’s beautiful John

  6. Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  7. I usually hate that phrase but here it all made sense.

  8. This is excellent. +smile+

  9. From one romantic to another: well done!

  10. I relate to this. I’m sure I’ll enjoy reading your posts! And thanks for the follow! 🙂

  11. Gosh! I really love this one. Beautifully written. Short but brilliant! 🙂

  12. I really loved this piece, more than all of your other great pieces.. It’s so precise and well framed! (: beautiful!

  13. This piece is so well written, so precise and beautiful! I really liked this more than all your other great ones (and believe me, all others are great!).. Loved it!
    Have a nice day..! (:

  14. Sometimes, saying farewell is the best and only option.

  15. Sigh. Your poetry is beautiful

Leave a Reply

