Where Are You Coming From?

Where are you coming from?

Has life been a struggle,

or have you lived atop the world?

Is your health of no concern,

or do you fight every step?

Has love come easily for you,

or have you been abandoned?

Are your familial ties strong,

or does dysfunction mark your past?

Your life, your journey brought you here.

I ask again –

Where are you coming from?

Facebook

Twitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on March 9, 2015, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 30 Comments.

  1. Reblogged this on IT GOES LIKE THIS! and commented:
    Beautiful.

  2. thank you for the precisely relevant question as I’m pondering where I’m going.

  3. It’s a good one John it says it all

  4. Sometimes others can voice your emotions better than yourself. You’ve done it for me.

  5. Some where between both extremes

  6. Beautiful! Although should it not matter where we come from but rather where we are headed to? We all have our journeys, the destination is the finality and we should keep travelling towards that end. Writing poetry whilst on the move!

  7. Danielle Lovechild

    Very beautifully written. Wouldn’t it be lovely if everyone took time out of their day to get to know a random stranger?

  8. Every time we meet a probable friend, a new acquaintance or just notice some random stranger, these thoughts pass through our mind. Wondering who they are and how their life was before we met them…
    You have captured those thoughts perfectly in this of post yours John ! Nice one πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, Carol! I’ve never made good first impressions because I’m so terrible at that initial small talk. Must be why I don’t make friends easily. lol! It’s great to meet you!

  9. You write so clearly.

  10. Great post. Thought provoking questions. My life is a constant journey of new births, new loves, new friends. My family is dysfunctional and loving and I just witnessed what appeared to be hate between my sister and her daughter. I guess I have a new blog here. Thank you for your post. I find as much inspiration on this site as anywhere.

    • Thank you so much! We all take that journey together. Those moments of dysfunction can be some of the hardest to deal with since we don’t normally divorce our families even though on occasion we may want to.

  11. I love this. Reminds me of the fascination you feel when entering those first moments of really getting to adore someone.

Leave a Reply

