Numbered

Hairs on my head – numbered you say?

Can you tell me how many remain?

Would you be so kind to read,

their numbered labels?

My days have each been assigned with,

a number of their own, you tell me?

Is that so?

I’m currently completing day,

number 17,988.

Do the math for me, Professor.

Break out your slide ruler,

tell me, using your math tricks,

how many remain in my,

lifetime’s equation?

Finally, ask me how much I care.

I’m not here to count, add,

subtract or multiply.

I’m here to live,

and your numbers,

mean nothing.

Just let me live today.

Facebook

Twitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on March 11, 2015, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 36 Comments.

  1. If you counted your years in your age, then age will diminish within the time you counted the years itself. Okay, now I am confused! lol

    • Funny and absolutely right!! Wondering or even worrying about how many days we have left, or even concerning ourselves with how many years, months or days we’ve lived, it all takes time away from doing what we should be doing…living.

  2. Well said John, and thought provoking prose.

  3. Very good. We were talking about our hairs not just being counted but individually numbered last night – God’s love and care for us is so infinite

  4. I gave up counting at one point I wasn’t sure of my age,if I’m happy that’s what makes my day,but counting no

  5. Beautiful! So hits home with me. I worked in academia 30+ years and my goal is to live off the grid. Thank you. Sierra

  6. God’s wisdom tells us it is limited (so be prepared) but not when it will be (because we should live each day as if it were our last).

  7. ​In His wisdom God tells us our time is limited (so be prepared) but does not tell us when it will end (because each day should be lived as if it were your last).

  8. So very true! Lol, I almost called my blog. “I was told there would be no math”

  9. Oh, and thanks for following my blog – I’m returning the favor.

  10. Well said John! Concise and precise! Looking forward to more from you.

  11. every day counts, no matter its number as every person counts no matter theirs! live as if today is the last day and every day will be good , thanks for writing “numbered” it is special, as all of your work is!

  12. the destinatiopns of our lives are often on the pathwas beyond numer

  13. A funny thing, numbers, we never stop counting. On the other side of the coin, counting can cause distractions to other things we need to take notice off, then BAM! They slip away.

  14. Beautifully rendered

  15. Day after day…year after year. Why worry about things you can’t control? Great point!

  16. Slide ruler? You must be my age. No, I’m not doing the math. I was kicked out of Engineering school.

    • Thanks, Lilly! That cracks me up though I’m not certain how old you are and it’s not polite to ask. However, the fact you got into engineering school tells me that you’re much better with numbers than I am.

Leave a Reply

