You Never Came to Visit

You never came to visit last night.

Without you there is no ending,

no resolution to my day.

When you fail to show up,

there’s no tomorrow just a blur.

If you don’t materialize,

my mind cannot hit reset.

The day grew much more difficult,

I could no longer find me when,

You never came to visit last night.

Facebook

Twitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on March 13, 2015, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 41 Comments.

  1. Hi,

    Very touchy stuff.Liked it very much πŸ™‚

  2. It’s terrible when someone leaves you hanging–as if your emotional needs weren’t real. It’s even more terrible to fall in love with someone who ignores you. A verifiable mental illness.

  3. Sounds like you are lost last night …

  4. Ah! Beautifully written πŸ™‚

  5. I really like how this is general enough to fit so many situations, from someone waiting for a lover, an elderly parent waiting for a child, even a ghost or a pet. Really well done, John.

  6. Beautiful. Lingering anguish, that’s one source of inspiration. I know that well. Beautiful write.

  7. Beauty lies in sadness…sometimes.

  8. And the days just melt into each other…Lovely words.

    • Thank you, Jeanne! When it becomes necessary to keep a calendar handy or at the very least checking the date on your tablet, laptop or PC…those can be rough times. Though I’ll admit tough times have been known to cause a torrent of writing for me for better and for worse.

  9. I almost thought of a guardian angel then I realized it could be about a lover, maybe? Either way, I enjoyed it❀

  10. When your beaten down by the day, a warm smile is needed to come your way. I can relate, without my calming voice, I am lost. Nice write πŸ™‚

  11. I’ve been there my friend hanging onto each passing minute waiting for that door to open and seeing that face appear , man do l know this all to well,love can mend as well as break,what a crazy kind of glue
    Great piece john

  12. It’s interesting how particular habits stabilize our reality. Some people cannot function without their morning cup of coffee, five minutes of rest before going to bed or just after waking up, a relaxing shower, watching tv, the list goes on and on. Without these habits our reality can become shaky, even to the point of crumbling down around us. You illustrate this beautifully in the longing for a human presence in order for another day to start. I am like this some times with my roommate when she goes home for the weekend and does not return until late at night. I love the last two lines. Our identities become tie up so much in our relationships with others, and I can become anxious and unsettled when I do not know when she will return.

    I also appreciate your distinction of time between two days. Is it at midnight? Is it separated by sleep cycles? Is it determined by the sun setting and rising? It’s different for everyone.

    • Thank you, Michelle. Those habits can make or break a day, especially for me, I admit. We all get used to things coming or happening in a certain order at certain times of day. Breaking it up or disrupting that cycle can throw off an entire day. It’s great to meet you!

  13. i can see myself crying because i am waiting for someone to show up since last few days…n i guess he would never show up ;(

  14. The best thing about this poem is that it is appropriate for different people under various circumstances.

  15. Love it. I was thinking sleep didn’t come as I have felt this way when I have had a bout of insomnia. Look forward to catching up on your blog and thanks for the follow.

  16. I love the mystery, the universal meaning, the flow of words and the burning questions, who or what, and what of the following night?

Leave a Reply

