Broken

At the time it shatters,

the tragedy begins.

Broken and defeated,

it lies in utter ruin.

It is not the heart.

It is the mind.

Facebook

Twitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on March 17, 2015, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 38 Comments.

  1. Great one John short and to the point,if the mind is not willing there isn’t a heart

  2. All said and done, alas, its the shattering mind which breaks the heart and post-Broken what’s left – just the void, bigger than the Cosmos where wandering souls are left to lament for eternity! Thanks for the ‘broken’ post!

  3. Short and sweet. Well done.

  4. Ain’t that neat? I wrote the same thing on broken-ness.

  5. Some beautiful moments happen when the mind and heart “hear ” eachother and have a conversation …I love this poetry …xxxmeg

  6. Perfect description!

  7. This perfectly captures that moment when things fall apart and it really hits you. I feel like the heart is always open and willing to love, but the mind tries too hard to protect it.

    https://modernmuckraking.wordpress.com/

  8. thefeatheredsleep

    When you are able to encapsulate a thought, observed moment, that we can all relate to, so deftly with such clarity, then you truly have evolved to that of wordsmith.

  9. β€œI was growlin’ one day
    ’cause I was so bent up and crooked;
    an’what do ye s’pose the little thing said? …
    She said I could be glad, anyhow,
    that I didn’t have ter stoop so far ter do my weedin’ –
    ’cause I was already bent part way over.”
    ― Eleanor H. Porter, Pollyanna

  10. True that John:) Thanks for this post!

  11. At the time you posted this, I was just writing a chapter of my novel titled Broken (serendipity;). I didn’t want to read the post carefully, so it wouldn’t influence my writing and I am glad I didn’t. Now that I have, thank you for this. Wonderfully said, in just a few words. Congrats!

Leave a Reply

