Two Pursuits

One pursues me while

I make haste to catch

up with the other

One remains illusive

ducking my advances

the other a daily reminder

that it intends to devour me

One is sure destruction

the end of all things

the other a source of peace

a respite from troubled life

These two – love and death

represent the ultimate

final destination

I must outrun love

to catch the other

Facebook

Twitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on March 19, 2015, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 28 Comments.

  1. between running from and rushing to is happiness possible?

    • Or…is happiness a creation of a mind willing to settle? It’s really just a state of mind. Part of it is allowing ourselves to be happy and finding satisfaction in our lives.

  2. Wow.. the ending really got to me. This is a great poem John. Certainly something to think about…

  3. What is your inspiration? great poem.

    • Thanks, Elizarose! Past relationships can sour us on love while life’s trials can sour us on life. Run from one and run toward another. It’s great to meet you!

      • I understand. I, however hold a different opinion. I feel turning sour on future love is giving those that hurt us to much power than they actually deserve. We all hurt and it teaches us what we don’t want in life. Happiness with one self and our experiences is what makes us braver than those we’ve left behind. One must remember that those that harm us effect those in the future, because we’ll never trust fully again or lead a happy life. One must be able to grab what we learn and apply it positively to our future.
        Great to meet you too!

  4. I love this one John,your comment on happiness,the whole thing works for me

  5. Impressive! I really liked this poem!

  6. Beautiful post 🙂 Creative pursuit indeed:D

  7. I read it the first time with love as the pursuit evading you and death the thing pursuing you, but the last two lines made me reread the poem with the pursuits switched. I love the irony of this reading. There have been many times that the pursuit of love from others has kept me from death. Great poem.

  8. Sublime poem…Love conquered death!

  9. Hauntingly thought provoking.

Leave a Reply

