I Would

if you’re wondering if

I would love you forever

I would

if you want to know if

I will always stay

I would

if you’re wondering if

I would lay down my life for you

I would

whatever you ask of me

whatever you need from me

I would

Facebook

Twitter

About John White

I've written off and on my entire life. It took years for me to finally take putting words together seriously. Now it's not, nor does it ever feel, like work. Writing daily has become habitual. No day is complete without words having appeared on the page.

Posted on March 21, 2015, in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 64 Comments.

  1. Ah, I have discovered my own soul mate…(30 + years) and yet he is not a poet.
    Perhaps it is good to have differences for compromise?

    Unconditional love forever is rare.

    I’ll book mark your place. My long verse place is where I oft post prompted pieces:
    Here

  2. John you keep writing and I will listen and read,it takes many words to sort out your emotions,as long as you finish in a place of peace it’s all good

  3. It’s like a prayer.

  4. I would have loved to see this in last months #howdoilovetheepoetryparty. It is so simple and yet so deep in emotion. Beautiful!

  5. So much feels for this poem :’)

  6. Nice! Enjoyed reading it

  7. i would ..but no one is there to wonder those things

  8. Your words are a beautiful tribute to the simple sincerity of the true love that encompasses family, spouses and real friendship.

  9. That’s the way God loves us, unconditionally… It’s the best love of all!

  10. beautiful poetry 🙂

  11. Bold. I would love to live them words. 🙂

  12. If you ask me if I enjoyed it, I did.
    Beautiful poem!

  13. Thats is true love! To give once life for another!

  14. I like the tone of this poem.

  15. I love this … Thanks for the follow. I am enjoying reading your poems.

  16. Sounds like something Jesus would say to us. What a great promise! Beautifully and simply put.

  17. I hope to love like this some day. Reminds me of Leonard Cohen – I’m Your Man =)

    • Thank you! Give it all you have but only to someone worthy of all you have. It’s great to meet you!

      • I’m actually going through the beginnings of a divorce… She wasn’t worthy of all I have. But great lessons have been learned, through this chaos. And I’m grateful for those at least.

        • Divorces can be a huge drain in a lot of ways. Mine was more than I could handle at times though I must say when it was over I wasn’t just relieved, I was happier than I had ever been. It turned out to be the best thing to ever happen to me. Hang in there. It gets better.

          • She is moving out tomorrow morning and I am elated, I can already feel relief!

            • That’s just the beginning. I had to wait for my divorce to be final for a long time. That part was tough but I held on waiting. The day it became final and the judge had ruled the marriage was over, I went out to my truck, got out three signs I had printed that said “Just Divorced” and put one on the tailgate and one on each door. That 45-minute ride home was the most fun and the most entertaining ride I had ever taken in my life. 🙂

              • Maybe I will design a shirt to wear for when my day comes! I just posted a blog under the title, Electric, Flashing, Hypersonic, Like A Bat Out Of Hell, I wrote of my experience thus far, in my divorce, just in the first paragraph. Read if you like ! =D I’m quite enjoying our mini-chats !

                • You said a mouthful when you said…”I’m happy to say that I’m walking away from this marriage, knowing that I take with me valuable lessons that I could only have learned through that struggle and all those dark times. We must all be grateful for knowledge, and even more grateful for the wisdom that the experience teaches us.” That’s one part of any breakup or divorce. What we learn and how strong we grow from the experience is invaluable to us.

  18. januaryholistic

    Reblogged this on poetry by january fang and commented:
    Another from doubleupoet.

Leave a Reply

